University College London

Prof Robert Palgrave

WP 2

I completed my PhD (2007) at the Department of Chemistry, University College London on chemical vapour deposition of gold nanoparticle thin films. I then did postdoctoral work at the University of Oxford, working on molecular beam epitaxy and photoemission spectroscopy, and later at the University of Liverpool working on pulsed laser deposition.

In 2012 I was appointed Lecturer at UCL Chemistry and was promoted to Reader (2017) and Professor (2019). My group’s research is on solid-state materials chemistry, with a focus on materials with applications in renewable energy generation and storage.

I am Co-Director of the EPSRC National XPS Facility, HarwellXPS, a service providing access to XPS instrumentation and training for UK scientists.

I am chair of UCL Chemistry’s outreach committee and work with a number of charities to encourage wider participation in higher education, including The Institute for Research in Schools, The Tutorfair Foundation and Generating Genius. I am a Senior Fellow of the Higher Education Academy and Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry.

Prof David O. Scanlon

WP 1.3 Leader

I completed my undergraduate degree in Computational Chemistry at Trinity College Dublin (TCD) in 2006, and then joined the research group of Professor Graeme W. Watson in TCD. During my PhD, my research focused on investigating oxides with catalytic applications, as well as studying the fundamental properties of transparent conducting oxides (TCOs).

I successfully defended my thesis “Electronic structure studies of p-type semiconducting oxides” in my examination by Prof. C. Richard A. Catlow FRS, University College London (UCL) and Prof John C. Corish, TCD on 21st January 2011. I received a Thomas Young Centre Junior Research Fellowship to visit UCL for 3 weeks for collaboration with Prof. Catlow in spring 2011.

In October 2011 I moved to the Department of Chemistry in UCL to take up a Ramsay Fellowship, jointly funded by the Ramsay Memorial Fellowships Trust and the MAPS Faculty in UCL to carry out independent research into novel materials for renewable energy applications. In 2012, I was awarded the Royal Irish Academy Young Chemists prize for 2011, for “the most outstanding Irish PhD thesis of 2011 in the area of the chemical sciences”. I also received an honourable mention in the 2012 IUPAC World Prize for Young Chemists competition.

In September 2013 I was appointed as a Lecturer in Computational, Materials and Inorganic Chemistry in the Department of Chemistry in UCL. The position is a joint appointment with Diamond Light Source, and I spend approximately 50% of my week at Diamond.

In 2015 I was awarded the RSC Harrison-Meldola Memorial Prize for the “development and application of computational techniques to understanding and predicting the properties of functional semiconductors for energy applications”. In June 2015, I was made a Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry.

In October 2016 I was appointed as a Reader (Associate Professor) in Computational, Materials and Inorganic Chemistry in the Department of Chemistry in UCL. In December 2016 I was made a Fellow of the Higher Education Academy (FHEA), which means that I have met the appropriate standards in teaching and supporting learning in higher education, under the UK Professional Standards Framework (UKPSF).

In July 2017 I was awarded a prestigious ERC Starting Grant, to examine mixed anion semiconductors for energy applications.
In June 2018, I was awarded the UCL Student Union Student Choice Award for “Outstanding Research Supervision”, with the award highlighted in the UCL MAPS Faculty news. Following this, I was shortlisted for the Times Higher Education Awards 2018 for “Outstanding Research Supervisor of the Year”. In October 2018, I was promoted to Professor in the Department of Chemistry in UCL, with the title Chair of Computational Materials Design.